Wednesday, 1 December 2021
+10...+16° C


08.05.2018 11:18

Recognising the very best of the best in the horticultural industry, the 10th International Association of Horticultural Producers (AIPH) International Grower of the Year (IGOTY) Awards 2019 is open for entries. The event is taking place at the IPM fairground on Tuesday 22 January 2019 in Essen, Germany, alongside IPM Essen 2019.

The awards recognise best practice in horticultural production by the top ornamental production nurseries from around the globe.

The categories are:
• FINISHED PLANTS AND TREES - Plants and trees ready for final sale.
• YOUNG PLANTS - Cuttings, plugs, liners, seedlings, etc, sold for growing on.
• CUT FLOWERS AND BULBS - Flowers and foliage cut for indoor decorative use and bulbs.
• SUSTAINABILITY AWARD - Best practice and innovation in improving sustainability.
• INSPIRING BUSINESS AWARD - Small businesses (less than ten employees) that demonstrate unique qualities and innovation.

2018 saw nine finalists from five countries make it through to the awards gala dinner, representing Canada, China, Columbia, Ethiopia, Israel and the Netherlands, with Ter Laak Orchids - The Netherlands taking home the title of International Grower of the Year 2018.  

Eduard Ter Laak, Owner of Ter Laak Orchids, said, “Every day we strive for top quality, so we invest continuously in technical innovations and the development of our product. And always in a sustainable manner because respect for people and the environment is part of our character. Together with our customers, suppliers and staff, we set the bar a bit higher. That is why we invest not only in our product, but also in sustainable relationships. That our efforts are now being rewarded with this prize is fantastic!”
Not only do the awards champion outstanding achievement in the sector, they offer a unique opportunity to benefit from international networking across ornamentals horticulture industry. Growers, horticultural businesses and industry peers can all get involved by either entering the competition, sponsoring the event or attending the gala dinner and awards ceremony.

The deadline to submit entry forms is 13 July 2018 and all information can be found at


Related Articles

11.06.2018 13:14

Freshfel Europe is pleased to announce the election of Mr. Stephan Weist as President and Mr. Salvo Laudani as Vice-President to the Freshfel Board

14.05.2018 15:07

AREFLH presented the 4th edition of its Regio'Com guide as part of a conference organised at Macfrut with the support of the Emilia-Romagna region.

08.05.2018 13:36

The fresh tomato sector will meet for the second time on June 14./15. at the European Tomato Forum in Düsseldorf. Do not miss this Networking- and Information platform.

08.05.2018 10:53